Ohio State Law requires any dog over the age of three (3) months to have a license within 30 days of ownership. Any license purchased after 30 days of ownership, or renewed after the annual renewal period must include a penalty equal to the cost of the license. Your dog’s license may be purchased at the Auditor’s office Monday through Friday between 8:30 and 4:30. Also check the list of Agents below.
Ohio Law requires that licenses be renewed each year between December 1st and January 31st.
Adult Dog License - $14.00 PER DOG due by January 31st (late fee of $14.00 per dog will apply if not postmarked by due date).
Kennel License - $10.00 plus $70.00 for five tags and is available through the Auditor's Office ONLY (additional tags may be purchased for $2.00 each) due by January 31st (late fee of $70.00 and $2.00 will apply if not postmarked by due date).
A duplicate license is only $5.00 To transfer a current license to a new owner is only $5.00
We ask all dog owners to place the new dog tag on the dog’s collar immediately to help insure your dog’s safe return home.
Current Licenses From Outside Stark County
If you move to Stark County from another county within Ohio we will honor the license until it is expired. If you move here from another state you are required to purchase a license within 30 days.
Dog licenses are designed to assist in the location and return of a lost pet.
Why License Your Dog? IT’S THE LAW!